Burse de studiu   Universitati   Conferinte studentesti   Asociatii studentesti   Scoli de vara   Cum sa...

Find us on Google+
[afla mai mult]
[afla mai mult]
[afla mai mult]
[afla mai mult]

Nu esti inscris? Apasa aici pentru a te inscrie.

Burse de studiu
Statele Unite
Uniunea Europeana
Europa Centrala

Conferinte studentesti
Taxe reduse
Fara taxe
Acoperire totala a costurilor

Scoli de vara
Statele Unite
Uniunea Europeana
Europa Centrala

Cum sa...
Scrii un CV
Scrii un CV
Scrii o scrisoare de motivare
Pregatesti plecarea
Scrii un eseu
Te pregatesti pentru interviu
Scrii o scrisoare de intentie
Scrii o teza de cercetare
Scrii o scrisoare de recomandare
Aplici pentru o bursa


Retete culinare ilustrate

Retete de vis

Easy recipes explained step by step

University of Pretoria
Pretoria, South Africa


Descrierea universitatii (pe baza site-ului oficial)

UP is the leading research university in South Africa and one of the largest in the country.

The University has six campuses as well as a number of other sites of operation , such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital. Central administration is located at the Hatfield campus.

The University of Pretoria offers more than 1800 academic programmes in two of the official languages, namely Afrikaans and English. (Some programmes and modules are offered only in English.)

In 1996, the University of Pretoria became the university with the highest research output in South Africa and have maintained this status.

The academic programmes of the University are offered in the nine faculties stated below, as well as a business school. The faculties comprise a total of 140 departments and 85 centres, institutes and bureaus.

UP is at the forefront of tertiary education in the country and collaborate with world-class partners to ensure continued excellence in learning and teaching.


Economic and Management Sciences


Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology

Health Sciences



Natural and Agricultural Sciences


Veterinary Science

Business School:

Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS)

History of the University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria has its origins in the establishment of the Pretoria Centre of the Transvaal University College in 1908. The colloquial name of the university, Tuks or Tukkies, was derived from the acronym of the college TUC.

The college opened its doors as an English language institution housed in Kya Rosa, a four-bedroom residential property in the centre of Pretoria. TUC started off with four professors and three lecturers and 32 enrolled students. Courses were presented in Dutch and other Modern Languages, English Language and Literature, Classics (which included Philosophy, Latin and Hebrew), as well as Natural Sciences.

On 10 October 1930, an act of Parliament championed by General Jan Smuts gave rise to the name TUC becoming the University of Pretoria. At the time the University had more than 900 students, making it the largest tertiary institution in the country at the time.

UP currently has more than 50 000 students and has become one of the leading higher education institutions on the continent and indeed, in the world. It now offers courses in both English and Afrikaans and has transformed from a mainly white, Afrikaner institution to a multicultural, multiracial university that offers quality education to South Africans from all walks of life.


The University of Pretoria strives to be:

a leader in higher education that is recognised internationally for academic excellence, with a focus on quality;
a university that is known for international competitiveness and local relevance through continuous innovation;
the university of choice for students, staff, employers of graduates and those requiring research solutions;
a university with an inclusive and enabling, value-driven organisational culture that provides an intellectual home for the rich diversity of South African academic talent; and
the premier university in South Africa that acknowledges its prominent role in Africa, is a symbol of national aspiration and hope, reconciliation and pride, and is committed to discharging its social responsibilities.

The mission of the University of Pretoria is to be an internationally recognised South African teaching and research university and a member of the international community of scholarly institutions that:

provides excellent education in a wide spectrum of academic disciplines;
promotes scholarship through:
the creation, advancement, application, transmission and preservation of knowledge;
the stimulation of critical and independent thinking;
creates flexible, life-long learning opportunities;
encourages academically rigorous and socially meaningful research, particularly in fields relevant to emerging economies;
enables students to become well-rounded, creative people, responsible, productive citizens and future leaders by:
providing an excellent academic education;
developing their leadership abilities and potential to be world-class, innovative graduates with competitive skills;
instilling in them the importance of a sound value framework;
developing their ability to adapt to the rapidly changing environments of the information era;
encouraging them to participate in and excel in sport, cultural activities, and the arts;
is locally relevant through:
its promotion of equity, access, equal opportunities, redress, transformation and diversity;
its contribution to the prosperity, competitiveness and quality of life in South Africa;
its responsiveness to the educational, cultural, economic, scientific, technological, industrial, health, environmental and social needs of the country;
its active and constructive involvement in community development and service;
its sensitivity to the demands of our time and its proactive contribution towards shaping the future;
creates an intellectually stimulating and culturally vibrant, pleasant and safe environment in which its students and staff can flourish; and
is committed to effective, efficient, caring and innovative approaches to teaching, research and community service, client-centred management and administration, and good governance.

Website:: http://web.up.ac.za
Email: csc@up.ac.za
Sectiunea de burse: Scholarships website section
Adresa email pentru burse: csc@up.ac.za


Burse de studiu

Junior Fulbright Program
United States

Ford Foundation International Fellows Program

Rotary Fellowships
Global Network of Community Volunteers

Student grants

Graduate Assistantship and Doctoral Assistantship

International Fee Remission

Half Tuition Merit Scholarships

Grant in Aid

Lillian Moller Gilbreth Scholarship

Harvard-Smithsonian Postdoctoral and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory Predo

Japan Studies Dissertation Workshop

Hauser Global Scholars Program

Need-Based Grants

Gwendolen M Carter/PAS-NU Fellowships

Internship in Environmental Education

Internships for Astronomical Research

Howard Heinz Social and Public Policy Fellowships

MASWE Memorial Scholarship

Jesse Marvin Unruh Assembly Fellowship

High School Graduate Scholarships

Graduate Assistantship

Frank M Chapman Memorial Fund

International House of Japan

Catherine H Beattie Fellowship for Conservation Horticulture


University of KwaZulu-Natal

University of Limpopo

University of Pretoria

University of South Africa

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Free State

University of the Witwatersrand

University of Western Cape - UWC

University of Zululand

Copperbelt University

University of Zambia

Solusi University

Universidade de Cabo Verde

University of Mauritius

Universite de la Reunion